2022 Ted Williams Award Winner : Prof. Eng-Hock Lim (UTAR)

Ted Williams Award

Named in honor of Ted Williams, an industry innovator, collaborator, and long-time member of the AIM Global Technical Symbology Committee, this award, created in 2007, is presented annually to a professor or student in recognition of innovative and exceptional contributions to the development of the Automatic Identification and Mobility industry that can further the growth of the industry through their work as a teacher, researcher or entrepreneur.

This year’s recipient is Professor Eng-Hock Lim, Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR), Malaysia for his outstanding academic research and scientific development of RFID technology. He is a world-leading researcher in the field of metal-mountable UHF RFID antennas. His pivotal research unveiled the possibility of designing a miniature metal-mountable tag antenna using the low-cost flexible substrate in 2017, demonstrating design methods for several miniature folded-patch tag antennas for on-metal applications using the softlon materials (with dielectric constant of around 1) and flexible thin PET. Prof. Lim is also a pioneer in the research field of multi-functional dielectric resonator antennas (DRA). He is also the co-inventor of 18 patents (14 United States, 2 China, 1 Malaysia, and 1 Hong Kong). We recognize Prof. Lim as a major contributor to the progression of RFID technology.


Learn more about our winners here: https://bit.ly/3HLj5Tl

Scroll to Top